
 
 
 
December 7, 2016 
 

Anchorage Residents Charged With Cashing Forged PFD Checks 
 
(ANCHORAGE, Alaska) – On December 2, 2016, four Anchorage residents were 
arraigned on felony charges for cashing PFD checks that had been stolen and 
subsequently altered to reflect their names as payee. 
 

• Jessie Wolfe-Aragon (25) was charged with one count of Forgery in the First 
Degree and Theft in the Second Degree;  

• Jafra Monique White (33) was charged with one count of Forgery in the First 
Degree and Theft in the Second Degree; 

• Taci Lynn Pfingsten (31) was charged with two counts of each Forgery in the 
First Degree and Theft in the Second Degree; and 

• Chengmeng Xiong (28) was charged with two counts of each Forgery in the 
First Degree and Theft in the Second Degree, and one count of Theft in the 
Third Degree. 

 
The charges allege that each of the above-named individuals negotiated one or more PFD 
treasury warrants that they knew had been stolen and altered to reflect their respective 
name as the payee. One warrant was negotiated at a bank through a "remote deposit" 
application and subsequent withdrawals, three were cashed at an Anchorage area 
supermarket, and two were cashed at different Anchorage area department stores.  Video 
footage of the transactions and DMV records helped to confirm the identities of the 
defendants, all of whom had either not applied for a 2016 PFD, or who had already 
received their 2016 PFDs. 
 
Under the law, all defendants are presumed innocent until proven guilty.  The crime of 
Forgery in the First Degree, a class 'B" felony, relates, in part, to cashing a check issued 
by a government.  If convicted, each defendant would face a maximum penalty of a 
definite term of imprisonment of not more than ten years and a maximum fine of 
$100,000. If convicted of the crime of Theft in the Second Degree, a class 'C" felony, 



each defendant would face a maximum penalty of a definite term of imprisonment of not 
more than five years and a maximum fine of not more than $50,000. If convicted of the 
crime of Theft in the Third Degree, a class “A” misdemeanor, a defendant would face a 
maximum penalty of a definite term of imprisonment of not more than one year and a 
maximum fine of not more than $25,000.   
 
The investigation was conducted by the Criminal Investigations Unit of the State of 
Alaska, Department of Revenue, which is the agency tasked with investigating fraud 
against the Permanent Fund Dividend program.  For more information on reporting PFD 
fraud, go to www.pfd.alaska.gov/fraud. 
 
CONTACT:  Assistant Attorney General Lisa Kelley @ (907) 269-6297 or 
Lisa.Kelley@alaska.gov 


